Perfect for St. Patrick’s Day Irish Soda Bread

1 Comment

I know I have another soda bread recipe posted here but this recipe is so good that I had to post it.

It’s from King Arthur Flour’s early spring 2010 edition of The Baking Sheet .  This has to be the best soda bread I have ever had.  I had forgotten how much I like currants because I usually can’t find them and leave them out or sub raisins.  I did leave out the fennel because I don’t like fennel in any shape or form and if you don’t like it, don’t add it.  If you do like it, add 1/4 cup fennel seeds with the currants.  You can always sub raisins for the currants but I wouldn’t use the whole cup ~ maybe closer to 3/4 of a cup.

This bread really has a nice tender crumb and really couldn’t be easier to put together. It’s perfect for your St. Patrick’s Day celebration.

And for soda bread purists ~ I KNOW this is not the traditional soda bread but it IS delicious ~ more so than traditional, I think.

Perfect for St. Patrick’s Day Irish Soda Bread
(my version of King Arthur Flour’s recipe)

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

3 1/2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
4 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup currants
1 egg
2 cups buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350º and spray a 10-inch round cake pan. I used a 9 inch cake pan and it worked perfectly.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Run a whisk through the mixture to break up any lumps. Add currants and mix well.

In another bowl, mix the buttermilk and egg until well combined. Add this mixture to the dry mixture and mix until just combined. Do not overmix. The batter is somewhat stiff.

Using a spoon, scrape the dough into the prepared pan and make sure to smooth it out so it is even in the pan.

Bake until golden ~ about 50 minutes. Mine was done in about 45 minutes so begin checking at 45 minutes.

Cool before removing from pan and slicing.

Makes about 20 good-sized (thick) slices or about 40 thin slices.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Perfect for St. Patrick’s Day Irish Soda Bread

Leave a Reply

