Strawberry Spinach Salad

4 Comments

This is one of my very favorite recipes ever and I love it when strawberry season arrives.  I made this salad in the picture with raspberry balsamic vinegar instead of just plain raspberry vinegar.  I like them both but it looks prettier with just the plain raspberry vinegar.  I never add the sliced almonds ~ just personal preference.  I first found this recipe in a junior league cookbook (Very Virginia, I think) but have since seen it all over the internet.

strawberry-spinach-salad-added

    Spinach Strawberry Salad

    Dressing:
    1/3 cup raspberry vinegar
    1/2 cup sugar
    1 teaspoon dry mustard
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 1/2 teaspoons onions, grated
    1 cup canola oil or vegetable oil
    1 1/2 teaspoons poppy seeds

    Salad:
    10 ounces fresh spinach, washed and torn
    1 pint fresh strawberries, washed, capped, sliced
    1/2 cup almonds, sliced, lightly toasted

    In a blender or with a stick blender, combine vinegar and next 4 ingredients. Process until blended. With blender running, add oil in a slow, steady stream. Stir in poppy seeds. (Dressing may be stored in refrigerator up to 1 month).

    Just before serving, combine spinach, strawberries, and almonds in a large bowl.

    Toss with desired amount of dressing.

    Makes 6 servings

Happy Cooking!

my-signature1

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Spinach Salad

  1. I know this recipe, except with walnuts. SO GOOD. I’m glad to see you post it, it’s one of my favorite recipes (and possible favorite salad) ever.

  2. I am addicted to spinich – LOVE IT!! This looks super good. I hope I can find raspberry vinegar. I’m not having any luck on the buttermilk biscuit doughnuts as I can’t find the biscuits :(

Leave a Reply

