Dill Chicken Salad

15 Comments

Back in December when my daughter and I went to Williamsburg for our Holiday Tea, we stopped in The Cheese Shop because Libby was starving.  She ordered a chicken salad sandwich.  Now, chicken salad has never thrilled me but that sandwich was delicious!!!!  We were trying to figure out WHY it was so good because it seemed really basic to us.  Since then, I have been searching for a really good chicken salad recipe.  This one comes close.  It’s still not as good as that sandwich but it’s delicious nonetheless.

I used a rotisserie chicken for the meat but you could also use this recipe ~ Cooked Chicken for Recipes or you could poach it.  Don’t leave out the lemon in this recipe ~ it really adds a freshness to the chicken salad.

chicken-salad-1

Dill Chicken Salad

4 cups diced chicken
1 stalk celery, diced
4 scallions, thinly sliced
1 1/2 tsps chopped fresh dill
2 tbsps chopped fresh parsley
1 cup mayonnaise
2 tsps fresh lemon juice
1 tsp Dijon mustard
2 tsps Kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper

In a medium sized bowl, mix together the chicken, celery, scallions and herbs.

In a small bowl, mix together the mayo, lemon juice, Dijon, salt and pepper.

Add the mayo mixture to the chicken mixture and mix until well combined. Refrigerate until ready to serve. I think this tastes better if the flavors have a chance to meld together.

Makes 4 servings.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

chicken-salad-2

Happy Cooking!

my-signature11

15 thoughts on “Dill Chicken Salad

  1. Pingback: Week 2 Cleaner Eating | Sharp Lady Musings

  2. Made this with less chicken and more celery and fresh dill, parsley, and scallions from the garden. It was fabulous!

  3. Dec. 8th. I made this salad and it is very good. Used dry dill but
    it was still very good. Thank you for posting and sharing all
    these wonderful recipes with us. I love what you are doing.
    Brunie

  4. I was looking for a chicken salad with recipe and came across this. I LOVE it. I am sure it will be even better once it has chilled for a while. The ironic thing is, I just cooked a whole chicken using lemon pepper seasoning and stuffed a sliced lemon in the cavity. Talk abut perfect!!

  5. I made this today and it is fabulous….I unfortunately didnt have fresh dill and used dry dill weed and had to add a lot because I do love dill…easy and I will make this over and over again….thank you, Nancy….this is my new favorite recipe site.

  6. Pingback: Tea Sandwiches « A Recipe A Day

  7. Pingback: Bridal Shower Buffet « A Recipe A Day

Leave a Reply

