Blueberry Corn Toasties

17 Comments

The other day I was reading Kat’s blog, A Good Appetite , and she had a recipe that she had developed for Corn Toasties. I loved blueberry corn toasties when I was growing up and my kids loved them when they were growing up. I used to buy boxes of them when I did see them and stick them in my freezer. I haven’t been able to buy them here in Virginia ever.

So, I wondered if adding blueberries to them would work. See for yourself:

Do they taste the same? No, they taste BETTER! No mass produced flavor in these. They are delicious.

I made the recipe as Kat had posted. I was afraid the berries would break up if I folded them in so after I got the corn mixture in the pan, I sprinkled the top with the berries and gently pressed them in the dough a bit so they wouldn’t roll around. I ate one as soon as the pan came out of the oven and that was good. When I toasted up two of them for breakfast this morning and slathered on the butter, the flavor took me right back.

Please check out Kat’s blog (linked above) for the recipe (also linked above). It’s a WINNER!

Thank you, Kat!

Happy Cooking!

17 thoughts on “Blueberry Corn Toasties

  1. The HJ toasties were the best! I grew up in the 80’s and remember having them for breakfast. Haven’t seem them around in many years. I used to like the HJ mac & cheese too. They should come back into production I’d stock up on my favorites. :)

  2. I MISS THOSE TOASTEES SO MUCH..I HAD THEM TWO TO THREE TIMES A WEEK. NOTHING COMPARES IN THE GROCERY STORE.. SOME COMPANY NEEDS TO GET THAT RECIPE AND START GETTING IT BACK TO GROCERY STORES. IT IS A MONEY MAKER.
    I MISS THEM!!!!!!!!!

  3. Hi,
    Does anyone, anywhere, know of anyplace that is still selling the Howard Johnson Frozen Toasties? I used to buy them all the time at our local supermarkets and I haven’t been able to find them in probably a couple years. :(

  4. I grew up on the Howard Johnson’s blueberry and corn toasties as well. They stopped 95% production on all HJ frozen food. That’s why we havent seen them in the stores. Looks like they are gone for good :(

  5. My mom always used to buy Blueberry Toasties. She hasn’t seen them in a few years (?). She bought some store bakery blueberry round toaster things at her Spartan store. They are very close and yummy but on sale is $3 for 8 which 3 kids each want to and that’s a one day supply. So I’m going to try to make these and if they’re good I’m going to try to mass produce and keep in my freezer.

  6. DID THEY DO AWAY WITH THE BLUEBERRY TOASTIES BECAUSE I CAN NOT FIND THEM ANYWHERE IN THE FROZEN SECTION. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHERE I CAN FIND THEM?????

  7. Gloria ~ this is a recipe that I tried because I cannot get blueberry toasties here in Virginia. I would have no idea where to get them in RI. Try contacting Pepperide Farm.

  8. My hysband and I have enjoyed your toasties for years,
    unfortunately we can no longer find them in our area.
    Please tell me where I can buy them in Rhode Island.
    Sincerely,
    Gloria Tardiff

Leave a Reply

